Start a new topic

Feature Request: Quantization

I thought posted but couldn't find my thread.  If it's a re-post, moderator feel free to delete.

I'm a music newbie here, but I do have a few Teenage Engineering pocket synths.  At present, it doesn't appear that the Orba quantizes natively, correct?  I can't always finger drum on beat and it's driving me nuts.

19 people like this idea

Orba for sale on Reverb. I’d never buy version 2 if this company doesn’t fulfill promises.

1 person likes this
Using the app to quantize would be a great workaround. The thing that is bothering me most: I’m constantly targeted for Orba 2 ads and when I reply to the thread and ask about Orba 1 support, the questions are ignored. In the meantime every other question about preorder or anything else is answered. This is going to end up biting them. The music production world is very small and customer support has weight.

If it is absolutely impossible to let the Orba quantize on it's own, a relatively easy workaround could be to let the Orbasoftware do the quantization after sending the Loop to the Phone or computer. There should be calculationpower enough to do so.

Artiphon's Orba-1 Todolist

1. Say a request is high on the todolist.
  2. Offer a spot on the test team.
  3. Say a request can't be done by Orba-1, but the Orba-2 can.
  4. Say the todolist is secret because you don't want to make promises you don't keep.

1 person likes this
As another programmer I totally agree with you, Markus.

4 people like this

As a programmer I don't buy @Evan's excuse that quantization requires too much processing power.

The Orba 1 just records MIDI data, right? So there's no DSP involved, and quantizing just means snapping any notes to the grid, which should be *very* straightforward.

3 people like this