Start a new topic

Instrument One faulty strings

My third string stays on all the time.  If I push it again it will stop for 3 seconds.  Plus, the 1st, 2nd, and 4th string also set it off.  Totally unplayable.  I’ve had my Instrument One for over 2-1/2 years, so I guess they wear out quickly.

PS:  current firmware updates made no change

That's really unusual – I don't think I've ever heard of anything like this, and it'd be worth opening a support ticket with Artiphon if you haven't already. (Certainly I've been abusing mine daily for four years and it's still good as new, aside from some cosmetic wear on the strings rubber.) You could be just unlucky, but even if there isn't a ready fix, it'd be good to know what's behind this.

Yes, very unusual.  I have it on right now, in sax mode, and it has started on its own several times.  Sometimes a continuous note, other times a series of 1/32nd notes morphing into 1/2 and whole notes (of the 3rd string).  On other modes that use the bridge, I usually get non-stop 1/32nd notes no matter which string I hit, and the note is the 3rd string.  Again, they sometimes change into longer pulses, stop altogether, and/or start back up, without touching anything.  Very frustrating.

have you tried reinstalling the firmware? I had an issue (a different one) which fixed itself after that.

No, I haven’t.  Not sure how.  Updating is no problem but removing/replacing will take some study.

I don't think it's possible from the iOS app, but in the desktop editor it's under Help => Restore INSTRUMENT 1 Firmware.

1 person likes this

Thanks, but no dice.  I deleted the Instrument One app only to find I can’t download it again as it’s no longer available for the Mac.

I finally got it off the website, but my Instrument One has never worked on my Mac, which is a 2018 MacBook Pro, and there is no “help” anywhere on the editor.

No, it's still there.