Start a new topic

Sampling in Orba 2 - tempo us not preserved

Out of the box, the pitch shifting of recorded samples doesn't preserve the tempo of the recording.  Low notes are drawn out and high ones ridiculous ly short. It's also why chorus mode doesn't work with samples, it sounds horrible. Is there a setting to change that? If not, it should be added. It's pretty basic and should be the default mode IMHO.  Hopefully I'm just a newbie who's just missing something.

1 person likes this idea

God I wish we could edit!  My typos are killing me.

1 person likes this

Did you figure out the issue? I'm having the same problem. 

It’s not you!

I believe that’s how it was implemented by design (and a poor one at that). As you so well put it, it renders sampling a pretty much useless feature. But at least it looks very cool on all the promo videos…

Let’s hope @Artiphon will surprise us with a proper sampling functionality one day!

The way a sampler works is by pitch shifting according to the played note. The pitch shifting is done by playing through the samples faster or slower. This works well for single note events or for longer samples if they are played at their original pitch. To add time stretching, which is not part of a sampler but does exist in some apps like Ableton Live for tracks- not in the sampler- the processing and memory would be very intense. For chords, the issue is that a single note sample works. If there is already a chord or just several notes in the sample, the chord will play that at 4 pitches according to the chord which will likely result in strange harmonics.

In short: It is a sampler so it is intended for single event samples. Or, if you want to use longer phrases, they can only be played at their root note if the tempo needs to be preserved.

2 people like this