Start a new topic

Learning digital music with Orba - DAW's, Tracks, etc...

Are there any Orba owners out there that are experienced digital music artists or producers that can contribute to helping newbies get started?

I am new to digital music, just learned what MIDI actually means and I know I would benefit from being able to ask questions of experienced experts as I grow through the learning curve.

Some sample questions...

I want to use my Windows 10 PC to build tracks from the output of Orba. Any recommendations as to what DAW's are best choices? Easy to learn? Not cost $400 or $50/month to get started?

Is Orba enough on it's own to get started learning with a DAW or is this the start of a trip down acquiring new hardware road?

What resources do you recommend reading/viewing to get through the early part of the learning curve and being able to actually create?

This topic may go nowhere or, a bunch of newbies might end up helping each other out. Either way, I love my Orba.

1 person likes this idea

Hey Andrew,

I am not a professional producer or something like that, I am on the beginning of my music making process as well. But maybe I am able to help you a little bit, anyway...

So for a quite nice free DAW you can have a look on Audacitiy (https://www.audacityteam.org/). It's the best FREE DAW I know. But I am not shure if there is a possibility to record MIDI tracks. I think this is for audiotracks only. But maybe you find something out about this.

Another opportunity for you would be testing a free version of some professional DAW, like Ableton live lite or something.